

Advocacy Council Call Minutes

Date Tuesday, July 11, 2023

Time 12 a.m. ET

ATTENDEES	
Roger Figueroa, PhD (Chair)	Lindsay Bullock, CAE (staff, does not count toward quorum)
Joanna Buscemi, PhD	Joanna Buscemi, PhD
Melanie Bean, PhD	Lisa LaRowe, PhD
Pamela Behrman, PhD	Amy Myers, SCMM (staff, does not count toward quorum)
Brian Gonzalez, PhD	Megan Shen, PhD (PSC Chair)

Minutes approval

Dr. Gonzalez made the motion to approve the April call minutes, seconded by Dr. Buscemi. The motion carried.

Vetting process for SBM sign ons/endorsements

Dr. Gonzalez stated that these criteria will enhance the rigor of sign on opportunities and will serve as a reminder for individuals that endorse and sign-on.

Dr. Gonzalez made a motion in favor of the criteria, seconded by Dr. Bean. The motion Carried.

Discussion of SBM's response to the recent ruling on Affirmative Action

The Advocacy Council was supportive of SBM's statement regarding the Supreme Court's decision on Affirmative Action. The council suggested that the statement would benefit from adding references to support the reasoning for their stance.

The council commented that, as an organization, we need to always appear nonpartisan.

Dr. Figueroa stated that he was proud of the integrity of the Advocacy Council raising these questions and as representatives of SBM we always want to make statements that are scientifically based.

Dr. Figueroa and Ms. Bullock will contact President Fuemmeler to discuss the suggestions before the Executive Committee meeting on July 17^{th} .



Rural Health Policy Group

The council discussed that the Rural Health scope was very broad and the least specific of the advocacy groups and that there was trouble finding talking points and expertise in this priority area. The group decided there is sufficient evidence to sunset the area of focus and to revisit it every three years.

Dr. Figueroa made the motion to sunset the Rural Health Advocacy group, seconded by Dr. Buscemi. The motion carried.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Minutes respectfully submitted by A. Myers on July 24, 2023.